Got Answers?

I read Luke 18:1 and a devotional about being consistent with prayers recently. I don’t think I consider God’s perfect timing in regards to prayers not yet answered.

I usually feel like answers would have come by now if I had more faith, or was more “spiritual.”

People all around me have loads of answered prayers and seem to hear from God often. Sometimes this makes me feel incompetent as if I have a stunted spirit that can’t connect to God or hear from him properly.

The guidelines that God gave us on how to communicate with him and what we should expect have not changed, but I’m finding that I have never believed them.

I tried to wait on the Lord and be of good courage (PS 27:14) but after years of waiting I’ve become comfortable living without the things that I so desperately wanted.

The holes in my heart turned into unhealed scabs that I chose to regard as new flesh. I didn’t think that I was giving up when my press in prayer slowed to a trickle, and then to simply wishing that things were different.

I will focus on God’s promises moving forward by remembering these scriptures: “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you:” (Matthew 7:7 NKJV)

13 And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask anything in my name, I will do it.” (John 14:13-14 NKJV)

Since Jesus promises a response in his Word, I shouldn’t give up on getting answers. This reminds me of a quote that I saw on a knickknack: “Success is a journey, not a destination. The doing is often more important than the outcome.” -Arthur Ashe

Share your thoughts

