I’m No Beyoncé

Our value and purpose don’t change when we find someone who is more skilled than we are in a particular area. That person may be a potential mentor, or inspiration to help us better our craft.

I’ve met lots of people who do things better than I can and have read articles that are much more enticing than the pieces that I have written.

The words that I have for someone doesn’t disappear when I read something that appears to be better.

My sole reason for being here on this earth doesn’t change based on other people’s skill sets and skill levels.

Guess what I used to say if someone would ask me if I can sing?

You guessed it!

“I’m no Beyoncé.”

Seriously? No one should be “Beyoncé” besides Beyoncé. She is one of a kind, and so am I! I’m leaving that foolishness behind me.

When we put ourselves down so that it will hurt less before someone else takes a jab at us, we are just wounding ourselves. Self-inflicted wounds can create a stumbling block if you do decide to step out in your gifts later.

How?

When you finally decide to step out, your negative self-talk will stream across your mind, highlighted as if on a jumbotron.

Don’t despise small beginnings, or ever compare yourself to someone else. Let’s not bury our gifts and value because other lights are shining brightly. The more lamps, the better!

Share your thoughts

