Surviving Your Calling

Is what you are called to do in opposition to other things in your life? Does it feel like a catastrophic dilemma?

If you’ve ever met me, you may have found it a bit awkward. I deal with social anxiety whenever I’m around people, so being heard or seen can be hard for me. I’ve been on an emotional roller coaster since I received the call to sing for God.

I should probably post this scripture where I can see it every day:

But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are” (1 Corinthians 1:27 -28, English Standard Version)

I’ll spare you the sordid details, but I fall into the “weak” and “despised” category.

I was listening to a podcast recently, and the speaker mentioned that when a lamp is on, people use it to see what’s now visible, but they’re not staring at the lamp itself. You are the lamp in this scenario.

I only paid attention to my lamp when I first picked it out. Now that it’s here, I focus on the things in the room that I can now see because of it. The lyrics and the presence of God will be the primary focus when I sing (providing I don’t sound dreadful – that would be distracting).

Keeping this in mind is helping me not freak out and be washed over with fear of unwanted attention and all of the other ridiculously annoying angst that’s common for the socially anxious.

If you’re struggling with a call, keep this lamp idea in mind and don’t go crazy with worry. The focus will be on your message, so don’t get overridden with insecurities.

2 thoughts on “Surviving Your Calling

Share your thoughts

